(Volkamer, Rainer - 2019) -- Atmospheric Sciences Section/Ascent Award Award or Honor Receipt uri icon



  • The 2019 section awardees and named lecturers have been selected, and AGU staff, leaders, and selection committees wholeheartedly congratulate these awardees!
    Our colleagues have been selected for these prestigious honors for their sustained and unique contributions to advancing our understanding of Earth, its atmosphere and oceans, and planets and astral bodies beyond our own. The sciences encompassed by AGU are crucial for the health and well-being of our planet’s inhabitants. These awardees have contributed to both that understanding and the planetary health and well-being through their scientific advancements and outstanding service to the science and to AGU.
    This year’s cohort of awardees reflects the diversity that is integral to the Earth and space sciences. Among the 25 sections of AGU there are 65 such awards; 21 are for early-career scientists (up to 10 years post-Ph.D.) and 6 are for midcareer (10 to 20 years post-Ph.D.). Twenty-seven awards provide named lectureships that offer unique opportunities to highlight the meritorious accomplishments of the awardees. AGU inaugurated the Bowie Lecture in 1989 to commemorate the 50th presentation of the William Bowie Medal, which is named for AGU’s first president and is the highest honor given by the organization. In the list below, asterisks denote Bowie lecturers. Named lectures offered by AGU sections recognize distinguished scientists with proven leadership in their fields of science. We look forward to attending as many of these lectures as possible at Fall Meeting 2019 and encourage everyone to mark their calendars with these events.